Ages 5-6
Ages 5-6
Ages 5-6
Ages 5-6
Ages 5-6
Ages 5-6

Ages 5-6

Chronicle Books Childrens

Regular price $16.99 $11.89

Visit Amazon

Author: Cousteau, Philippe

Brand: Chronicle Books Childrens

Features:

  • Chronicle Books Childrens

Binding: Hardcover

Number Of Pages: 48

Release Date: 05-04-2016

Details: Product Description "Delivers an eloquent environmental message while demonstrating how kids can change the world through teamwork and perseverance." — School Library Journal A triumphant story of environmental activism, community, and friendship: Acclaimed activist Philippe Cousteau and renowned author Deborah Hopkinson team up to offer a story of the powerful difference young people can make in the world. Meet Viv, who has a new home and a new school by the sea and follow her as she finds her way in a new place and helps bring together a whole community to save the sea turtles of the South Carolina coast. • Explores various important themes like activism, philanthropy, volunteerism, and more • Features gorgeous watercolor illustrations that are colorful and engaging • Includes a "Letter to Young Activists" from the author as well as resources to learn more about sea turtles. • Meilo So is the esteemed illustrator of many books, including Water Sings Blue. Philippe Cousteau is an award-winning television host, producer, author, speaker, philanthropist, and social entrepreneur. Deborah Hopkinson is the author of many award-winning nonfiction books for young readers Fans of Manfish and Water Sings Blue will also enjoy the inspiring storyline and stunning illustrations in Follow the Moon Home. • Great family and classroom read-aloud book • Books for kids ages 4-6 • Children's picture books for kindergarten through third grade From School Library Journal K-Gr 3—The authors deliver an eloquent environmental message while demonstrating how kids can change the world through teamwork and perseverance. When Vivienne moves into her new home by the sea, she is nervous about finding her way. Her teacher and her classmates welcome her as they jump into an exciting class project—the students are looking for a problem to solve. After school at the beach, Vivienne and her new friend, Clementine, discover that the baby loggerhead sea turtles that are about to hatch may need help making it down to the ocean. The newborn turtles instinctively move toward the strongest light they see, and the brightly lit beach houses could point them in the wrong direction. Vivienne is determined to help the tiny creatures. The students in Mr. J.'s class begin working on the project by gathering information. How will they convince the homeowners along the shoreline to turn off their lights? The children soon involve the entire town as they launch their Lights Out for Loggerheads campaign. By showing the multiple channels that the students work through to raise awareness (posters, fliers, bake sales, a town meeting, the local newspaper, and the Internet), the authors expose readers to accessible, affordable ways to raise issue awareness in communities. So's lovely and bright watercolor illustrations chronicle each stage of the children's cause. The artist deftly captures the energy and enthusiasm in the classroom and the tranquility of the shoreline. The shadowy scene on the darkened beach as the turtles emerge from their nests is particularly atmospheric. VERDICT This collaboration provides an excellent example of how kids can make a difference through careful research, critical thinking, and problem-solving. Pair it with the equally inspiring Nights of the Pufflings by Bruce McMillan.—Linda L. Walkins, Saint Joseph Preparatory High School, Boston Review "An empowering look at what kids can accomplish."-Booklist "Urges readers to be activists and advocates when they see a problem that needs to be solved."--Geek Dad "Gorgeously illustrated. an appealing model of preteen activism."-Kirkus Reviews "Empowering story about grassroots activism and facing problems head-on."-Publishers Weekly "Delivers an eloquent environmental message while demonstrating how kids can change the world through teamwork and perseverance."-School Library Journal About the Author Philippe Cousteau is an award-winning television host, producer, author, speaker,

EAN: 0884672790380

Package Dimensions: 9.9 x 9.7 x 0.5 inches

Languages: English