Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8

Ages 4-8

Dial Books

Regular price $0.00 $17.99

Visit Amazon

Author: Harrison, Hannah E.

Brand: Dial Books

Features:

  • Dial Books

Binding: Hardcover

Number Of Pages: 40

Release Date: 09-08-2016

Details: Product Description A sweet and heart-tugging story about bullying, friendship, and fitting in, perfect for readers of Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon   Paula and Maggie have been friends forever. Paula thinks Maggie is the best—until mean girl Veronica says otherwise. Suddenly, Paula starts to notice that Maggie is big and clumsy, and her clothes are sort of snuggish. Rather than sticking up for Maggie, Paula ignores her old friend and plays with Veronica instead. Luckily, when Veronica turns on Paula, Maggie’s true colors shine through.      This moving friendship story has all the heart and emotion of The Giving Tree and Kevin Henkes's Chrysanthemum. The gorgeous artwork and important message make this a book to treasure. It’s truly a classic in the making.   From School Library Journal PreS-Gr 1—Paula (a beaver) and Maggie (an elephant) have been friends forever, and though they're worlds apart in terms of size and abilities, they enjoy being together—whether they are taking silly pictures in a photo booth or splashing in the mud. Then one day, Veronica (a dog) manages to divide the two pals, but not for long. After a brief yet hurtful period of disloyalty, Paula is surprised to find that she can still rely on Maggie to be the best friend ever. As in Nancy Carlson's books and the collaborations by Helen Lester and Lynn Munsinger, the focus is on life issues such as feelings, moral character, and self-esteem. This time she aptly addresses peer pressure and its influence on friendships. Enhancing the enlightening tale, Harrison's exemplary acrylic paintings of anthropomorphic animals serve as valuable information in helping children recognize facial expressions. VERDICT The trials of friendship and the early vestiges of mean girl culture are well portrayed in this recommended purchase; perfect for storytime or one-on-one sharing.—Gaye Hinchliff, King County Library System, WA Review * "Harrison tells her story with touching and expert restraint, and...shows a deeply sympathetic understanding of the simultaneously fragile and powerful emotions of children." —  Publishers Weekly, starred review "Harrison's straightforward, first-person text...conveys a wealth of emotion." — Kirkus Reviews "The trials of friendship and the early vestiges of mean girl culture are well portrayed in this recommended purchase; perfect for storytime or one-on-one sharing." — School Library Journal About the Author Hannah Harrison is an award-winning painter, specializing in animals. She lives with her family in Ada, Oklahoma.

EAN: 9780525429166

Package Dimensions: 10.1 x 10.1 x 0.4 inches

Languages: English