Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8

Ages 4-8

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Regular price $17.99 $13.94

Visit Amazon

Author: Sima, Jessie

Brand: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Features:

  • Simon Schuster Books for Young Readers

Binding: Hardcover

Format: Picture Book

Genre: JUVENILE FICTION

Number Of Pages: 40

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Release Date: 14-02-2017

Details: Product Description Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime Book Box – a children’s subscription that inspires a love of reading. In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals. Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure, he’s always been a little bit different—his tusk isn’t as long, he’s not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesn’t enjoy the cuisine. Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him! Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns. The revelation leaves him torn: is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds. Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima’s debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family. From School Library Journal PreS-Gr 2—The "not quite" narwhal in this story is Kelp, an adorable unicorn, born underwater and living with an equally adorable school of narwhals. His tusk is kind of short, he's not a very good swimmer, and narwhal food is just gross, but his life is pretty great. Kelp is accepted by the narwhals, and he accepts himself as he is. But one day, a strong current drops him on a beach, where he learns to walk (after hysterically imitating a crab and a frog, he finds that a turtle is the best model) and discovers a whole herd of "land narwhals" who look just like him. Little Kelp's new life is awash in rainbows and unicorns—he almost doesn't want to go home. Of course, home isn't quite the same after his adventure, but luckily everyone is on his side. The narwhals and unicorn meet at the beach, and Kelp ends his story in the best of both worlds. Sima draws digitally on a Wacol drawing tablet and has created charming undersea and overland settings on full-bleed spreads. Her narrative is short, with a storyteller's pacing and winning characters, resulting in an appealing book. Read it for a whimsical storytime or provide some text-to-text connections for older students with Amy Krouse Rosenthal's Uni the Unicorn and Bob Shea's Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great. VERDICT Useful for ELA curricula and sure to circulate, this title is highly recommended.—Lisa Lehmuller, Paul Cuffee Maritime Charter School, Providence Review "The message is an appealing one that could speak to many family situations relating to multiple identities...feel-good story" -- Kirkus Reviews, November 15, 2016 "Adorable characters trigger smiles throughout" -- Publisher's Weekly, December 2016 "A storyteller’s pacing and winning characters, resulting in an appealing book. Read it for a whimsical storytime or provide some text-to-text connections for older students with Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s Uni the Unicorn and Bob Shea’s Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great....this title is highly recommended." -- School Library Journal, January 2017 "Swap the tired Ugly Duckling for this delightfully absurd tale of knowing who you are and where you came from." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, January 2017 "Sima’s bubbly, adorable artwork is nearly irresistible...This endearing tale will warm many a heart." -- Booklist, January 2017 "This book is painfully adorable...The story is about finding your own way to belong,..It's just beautiful.” -- Shelf Awareness Pro, January 24, 2017 About the Author Jessie Sima is an author/illustrator who lives and works in New York City. She grew up in a small town in Southern New Jersey, unaware that she was a storyteller. Once she figured it out, she told her family and friends. They took it quite well. Not Quite Narwhal is Jessie's debut picture book. Visit her online at jessiesima.com!

EAN: 9781481469098

Package Dimensions: 9.5 x 9.3 x 0.5 inches

Languages: English