Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8
Ages 4-8

Ages 4-8

Scholastic Press

Regular price $17.99 $14.47

Visit Amazon

Author: Maier, Brenda

Brand: Scholastic Press

Edition: Illustrated

Binding: Hardcover

Format: Illustrated

Number Of Pages: 40

Release Date: 27-03-2018

Details: Product Description A spunky, feminist adaptation of the timeless favorite, The Little Red Hen, sure to appeal to fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer. b A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year * " i The Little Red Hen /i gets an appealing girl-power update...Young makers of all genders will be inspired." -- i The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books /i , starred review /b Ruby's mind is always full of ideas. One day, she finds some old boards and decides to build something. She invites her brothers to help, but they just laugh and tell her she doesn't know how to build. "Then I'll learn," she says. And she does! When she creates a dazzling fort that they all want to play in, it is Ruby who has the last laugh. With sprightly text and winsome pictures, this modern spin on the timeless favorite The Little Red Hen celebrates the pluck and ingenuity of young creators everywhere! From School Library Journal PreS-Gr 2—This book begins with the line, "Ruby's mind was always full of ideas." When the child finds some old boards she decides that she wants to build something. So she asks her brothers for help. They tell her she doesn't know how, but she says, "Then I'll learn." Each step of the way Ruby asks the boys to help, but every time they reply: "Not me," said Oscar Lee; "I don't think so," said Rodrigo; and "No way" said José. So each time Ruby does everything herself. She draws the plans, gathers the supplies, cuts the boards (with her mom's help), hammers the nails (with grandma's help). Finally when the fort is complete, Ruby asked who wants to play in it. Her three brothers definitely want to do that. But Ruby tells them that they haven't done anything to help her, so she will play in the fort by herself. The boys set about to make amends by fashioning a mailbox, planting flowers, and painting the fort fire-engine red. Ruby loves it! That evening she invites her brothers to a cookie feast, which they all enjoy in the fort. The bold and dynamic artwork captures the kids' personalities and creative energy. VERDICT This delightful retelling of the old story of "The Little Red Hen" is perfect for storytime or one-on-one sharing. It also reminds girls that they can do whatever they set their minds to do.—Elaine Lesh Morgan, formerly at Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR Review b Praise for i The Little Red Fort /i by Brenda Maier, illustrated by Sonia Sánchez: A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year /b * " The Little Red Hen gets an appealing girl-power update...Young makers of all genders will be inspired." -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review "Using a narrative framework and dialogue inspired by the Little Red Hen.... Maier judiciously adapts one of the best nursery stories, keeps it simple, and makes it her own. The upbeat mixed-media illustrations are nicely varied in composition and perspective. A lively picture book that's fun to read aloud." -- Booklist "[Sánchez's] textured illustrations and sense of humor add depth to each dynamic scene. Throughout the story, Maier's little Latina go-getter breaks gender and cultural stereotypes....empowering...." -- Kirkus Reviews "Maier's girl-power-meets-classic folktale story line is engaging and entertaining. Sánchez's colorfully patterned and textured illustrations give dimension to a determined and endearing pigtailed heroine and her realistic multigenerational, multi-skin-toned family." -- The Horn Book "This delightful retelling of the old story of "The Little Red Hen" is perfect for storytime or one-on-one sharing. It also reminds girls that they can do whatever they set their minds to do." -- School Library Journal "...exuberance on every page." -- Publishers Weekly "The repetition of key words and the predictable narrative would make this book excellent for reading aloud....The warmly colored illustrations with pops of red are.... a fitting style for a book about one child's creativity and ingenuity." -- School Library Connectio

EAN: 9780545859196

Package Dimensions: 11.7 x 8.7 x 0.4 inches

Languages: English